Author Topic: Half destroyed balloons unrealistic  (Read 15544 times)

Offline nake

• Salutes: 6
    • [RZ]
    • View Profile
    • My programming, robotics and geek forum (spanish)
Half destroyed balloons unrealistic
« on: May 04, 2013, 03:37:12 pm »
Sorry if this was already pointed out, but as an engineer I feel that there is something wrong with the balloon in this game.
The main problem I see is that when the balloon it's being  destroyed it falls instead of going up.

I mean, think it this way: The balloon makes you float, so it should float by itself. If it's not completely inflated, it should seem to go to the top of the ship instead of falling.

See this image (I took from google images)

As you can see, the balloon is falling. xD
Does that make any sense? I know my English is not as good as it should xD

Please, take this in mind when creating the new ships for the adventure mode.

Offline N-Sunderland

• Salutes: 281
    • [Duck]
    • View Profile
Re: Half destroyed balloons unrealistic
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2013, 03:45:35 pm »
What if it's anchored to the bottom of the cage around it? Then it's perfectly realistic.

Offline nake

• [RZ]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2013, 04:12:52 pm »
Ehmm.. no.  ;)

If it's anchored, the surface between the beams of the cage shouldn't drop either. And the top part of the balloon should stay on top nevertheless.
If it really was anchored, the only difference would be that it would become some kind of tear-shaped balloon, with the pointed part where the anchor is.

Think it this way, the gas inside the balloon always wants to go up no matter how much of it there is. It's exactly as they made it but mirrored with the horizontal plane. For the balloon "falling" should be going up.

Offline Richard P

• Salutes: 3
    • [PLRS]
    • View Profile
    • Fleet of Sodom blog
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2013, 05:38:23 pm »