Author Topic: 3d modeling for the workshop  (Read 8179 times)

Offline Maestro Eraclea

• Salutes: 2
    • [☥Ra☼]
    • View Profile
3d modeling for the workshop
« on: February 03, 2015, 04:26:44 am »
Hi,

I submitted my first work on the workshop a few days ago and I'm currently working on another one (both inspired from Last Exile anime):

I encountered a nasty problem with my models and I couldn't get it fixed, there were hard-cut shadows all over. Since I'm a total noob in 3d modeling (the Guild's "Maestro" headdress was my first ever 3d model) I'll tell you what I did (on both items):
 - modelled the highpoly mesh
 - coated (best I could) with the lowpoly mesh
 - assigned materials (blender renderer)
 - baked normals
 - removed colors, put specular maps as color and baked textures
 - baked actual textures
 - baked ambient occlusion
 - removed colors (kept normal and specular info) and baked full render (for point light)
 - obtained cavity map from normal map
 - merged everything in color or normal/specular maps

programs used: blender 2.73a, GIMP 2.8.14
please tell me if I skipped something I really need to understand why shadows on my model are sharp even with normal info up; you can see an example of this on the preview image of my new work (the gold plate).

Also, I've got far more "I don't want to see this item on GoIO" votes for my Guild's "Maestro" headdress than I expected (12 out of 107) and so I would really ask you what is not good enough on that work that makes people downvote it (sadly user's complete feedback is not really encouraged on steam workshop).

Thank you for your time.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2015, 04:45:16 am by Maestro Eraclea »

Offline Richard LeMoon

• Muse Games
  • Salutes: 284
    • [Muse]
    • View Profile
Re: 3d modeling for the workshop
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2015, 12:20:02 am »