Author Topic: Ramming with a Goldfish  (Read 9931 times)

Offline ShadedExalt

• Salutes: 76
    • [♫]
    • View Profile
Ramming with a Goldfish
« on: November 17, 2014, 09:28:29 pm »
   So I'm a noob here, and I like to run either the Goldfish or Pyramidion.  I won't bother talking about the Pyra, because I am here to ask about the viability of ramming with either a Hwachafish or Blenderfish. 

With the 'Fishes main gun right up front, it is a risky move to an extent.  Up close is obviously desirable with a Blenderfish, and ramming makes a little bit more sense.  But with a Hwachafish, you want to be just a little bit further away, to get the little bit of spread required for a multiple component attack... unless the enemies armour is down.  This is where I usually ram, and to avoid the whole 'destroying your main gun' issue, I propose a simple, effective solution: come in with your balloon.  Hey, that spike on the fronts gotta be useful for something.

This negates the worry of busting your front gun, and increases your survivability by transferring damage to the balloon, which is pretty beefy.  If you really want, go for an uppercut.  After laying the smack down, just rise up, or if you really want pop hydrogen, and be right up in the bastard's face.  Impossible to miss.  Thoughts?

Offline Indreams

• Salutes: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Ramming with a Goldfish
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2014, 10:24:09 pm »
You aren't wrong, Goldfish can effectively ram with the balloon. I've done it several times, I'm sure others do as well. Some even use the balloon's 'beefiness' as a shield.

But Goldfish shouldn't primarily ram. Ram (or impact damage) is most effective when the opponent's hull armor is down. Hwacha will take a few volleys to properly strip armor. Carronade will usually focus on the balloon.

Still, Goldfish is probably the second best ramming ship. I use Goldfish ram in three situations: