Author Topic: Heatsink: Good or Bad?  (Read 41903 times)

Offline Bronzium

• Salutes: 11
    • [HMCS]
    • View Profile
Heatsink: Good or Bad?
« on: October 09, 2014, 07:54:03 am »
Hi guys,

As an Engineer myself, I find I tend to use Heatsink ammo on quite a regular basis. My reasoning behind this is that it does reduce firestacks, but it also helps to give more ammo to guns. I've seen very few engineers or gunners use this ammo type, and would like to know why it's so underused?

Offline RedRoach

• Salutes: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Heatsink: Good or Bad?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2014, 09:13:45 am »
The main issue is that, while reloading the ammunition reverts to normal instead of staying heatsink throughout. Many people know that a flamer, with it's non-stop rate of fire and large clip, can easily throw around 8+ stacks before your hwacha or gatling gets reloaded. I don't personally use it, because... well.. I chem spray me own guns between reloads for a full 25 second buff.

Offline Mezhu

• Salutes: 33
    • [Sgar]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2014, 10:04:05 am »
Heatsink is a great ammo type- however, like all ammo types, it's situational. Its' main uses are two; protecting a gun against fire and increasing some guns total damage per clip at the cost of damage per second and range. When should one use Heatsink?
  • As gunner, heatsink is a viable 3rd ammo type on many conventional guns. Use as an alternative to chem spray when engineers are preoccupied or  unreliable, or proc many reloads at opportune moments to slowly extinguish guns and relieve pressure off engineers.