Author Topic: Making the most of matchmaking / Another gamemode possibility?  (Read 4134 times)

Offline VikingOfSixth

• Salutes: 4
    • View Profile
So I have been out of GoI for several months because my desktop imploded for various reasons leaving me with a laptop that strained to run the game. Luckily it seems optimization has improved and I have been able to get back online this past week and should have another desktop by the end of the month. I am thrilled to see the number of improvements over the years and congratulate the devs and community for keeping at it.

To try and catch up I have been browsing the forum to see what is in store for 2013, and between exploring the new features today and seeing what sort of suggestions everyone is making I would like to toss in my own two cents at a possibility of making the current gameplay more dynamic/competitive.

I am stripping this idea a bit from Tom Clancy's End War because I honestly thought the ranked matchmaking system they had was a fresh experience even if the gameplay was not up to expectations.

- Now before I begin I realize there is a lot of planning going into development of an entire adventure mode. I am not up to date on that quite yet but am simply thinking of a way to maximize what has already been developed to add another option of online pay while we are waiting for more developments down the road! -

The basic idea is that you would belong to one of two or three factions in a ranked matchmaking system. Every week depending on the layout of maps players would choose to play in whatever maps were open to them and after a certain amount of time the overall number of wins/losses from all of the matches would be counted and whatever faction had the most victories would 'capture' the map. The next week a new map would be opened to fight over.