Author Topic: I'm looking forward to...  (Read 6284 times)

Offline redria

• Salutes: 136
    • [OVW]
    • View Profile
I'm looking forward to...
« on: January 23, 2014, 08:43:43 am »
Co-op against computers (assuming this is a thing. I'm pretty sure it will be?)!

So, I'm a very good pilot. I say this not out of arrogance but from experiences in pub matches, tournaments, scrimmages, and impromptu battles with other very good pilots.
I also have friends that I like to play with. As it happens, they tend to be very good pilots and crew. We tend to play together and against each other because we work well together and it challenges us.

I enjoy playing challenging matches, don't get me wrong. It is wonderful to win, and even defeats bring experience.
But sometimes I don't want to play challenging matches. Sometimes I don't want to have to play against my friends just to balance a lobby out. Sometimes I just want to crush my opponent and enjoy playing with my friends.

Right now the only option for that is stacked lobbies and pub stomping. Which means that there is no option. Most of the upper level players (hopefully) try to not stack lobbies too much and try to teach people a little bit. But if you ever have a short lapse in compassion for the younger generation of players, it is very easy to find yourself stomping along.

This is NOT okay.

Everyone acknowledges that this is one of the biggest barriers to more people staying with the game. I'm looking forward to having co-op fights versus AI's for 2 reasons.

1. Younger players get a chance to fight easier opponents as they learn. AI is easier to fight, more predictable, weaker, etc. Younger players can learn how to beat computers as they grow, meaning when they play public matches it will be much better for them.