Author Topic: Should the Galleon really be intermediate difficulty?  (Read 14561 times)

Offline AgentMatchbox

• Salutes: 0
    • View Profile
Should the Galleon really be intermediate difficulty?
« on: August 19, 2013, 06:09:20 pm »
I know that I'm new to the game, but the Galleon seems to take almost no skill to pilot. Whenever I use my double Hwachas, i often find my self parked beside the enemy, with my engines off and just spinning in circles. The slow turning speed keeps the broadside of my ship at a perfect angle from the enemy, and in the few situations where it's not, popping the phoenix claw for 2 seconds quickly and completely negates the problem.

It may just be that the people I play with aren't good, but the Galleon seems slightly too simple for it's difficulty rating.

Feedback is very much welcome, as I wish to improve my piloting skills in the future.

Edit: It may just be that I've been playing mostly in the beginner matches, but I still feel like it's easier than it should be.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2013, 06:15:04 pm by AgentMatchbox »

Offline Nidh

• Salutes: 16
    • [GwTh]
    • View Profile
Re: Should the Galleon really be intermediate difficulty?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2013, 06:22:08 pm »
I would say the intermediate tag does not come from the performing of fancy maneuvers in the Galleon's case, but rather from fancy, and correct, positioning. I'd say that correct positioning is an intermediate skill that is not found very often in beginner level games. If your Galleon is out-positioned, or flanked, then it's slow speed makes it very vulnerable.

Offline Echoez

• Salutes: 40
    • [Gent]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2013, 06:23:00 pm »
Welcome to the game!