Author Topic: Can't find the right ship  (Read 7549 times)

Offline Brolurk

• Salutes: 1
    • View Profile
Can't find the right ship
« on: July 22, 2013, 09:14:46 pm »
I am relatively new to GoIO and am really liking it. But I cannot seem to find the right ship for me. When I began playing I used the spire and mopped the floor with our opposition. But the next time I logg on and play a match with my spire, I can't get a single kill cause I'm getting blown to bits as soon as I engage an enemy ship. And this is the same with every other ship I have tried. Am I doing something wrong? Or am I not suited to be a captain?

Offline Imagine

• Salutes: 59
    • [MM]
    • View Profile
    • Twitch Stream
Re: Can't find the right ship
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 10:59:26 pm »
Unfortunately Spires are constructed out of tissue paper and die really really easily, so that's not entirely too surprising. As for having troubles with other ships, well, that's all part of the learning curve. I suggest finding a ship and weapon combo that works for you, sticking with it, and you'll start winning again sooner or later :)

Offline James T. Kirk

• Muse Games
  • Salutes: 182
    • [Cake]
    • View Profile
    • The Cake Official Website!
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 11:03:54 pm »
Each ship has a certain playstyle that can be accompanied by certain weapons, and certain weapons have a certain playstyle that can be accompanied by certain ships.

You can put a Lumberjack on a Goldfish and do some sniping, or slap a gat and some Manticores on a Galleon and do some brawling.

Sometimes, fun isn't always the most effective.

For example, a few friends and I put two mine launchers on the top deck of a Junker, two Banshees on the bottom, and an Artemis up front.
Flew that thing like a flamer Squid, too.

We sure didn't win every game, but we had loads of fun.

My best suggestion is to go out, find a few friends to experiment with, and try out some wacky builds.