Author Topic: Quitting Mid-Game & A Suggestion  (Read 16449 times)

Offline HamsterIV

• Salutes: 328
    • View Profile
    • Monkey Dev
Re: Quitting Mid-Game & A Suggestion
« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2015, 04:26:11 pm »
On the subject of clans, it is possible to have a fantastic time playing this game without associating oneself with a clan. I have been playing for two years and have not once joined a clan. So long as you make a good impression other players and keep a friends list of people who have made a good impression on you, there is no need to put a clan tag in front of your name.

Offline nanoduckling

• Salutes: 116
    • [♫]
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2015, 04:40:09 pm »
Hi Lanliss. Can totally respect your reluctance to join a clan, I've spent most of my GoI days clan free. Lots of folks thought the purpose of N2 when I created it was to stop people inviting me to join other clans.

One things I will say is I think you misunderstand what the primary purpose of GoI Clans is for their members and leaders. Almost all of the established clans are disinterested in skill level. They want players who can play as a team and that they can have fun with. Typically the older clans interview in game for exactly this purpose, and most couldn't care less how good or bad you are, they are seeing if you are a good fit. If I see say a level 10 player join my ship with a [Gent] tag I know they are going to be at least somewhat personable. Clans also help with organisation for things like skrims, but you don't need to be a member of a clan for those things either, but it can help.